

Conservation Committee Fern Zimmerman Conservation Award



Photo by Sandrine Biziaux

The Sea and Sage Audubon Society Fern Zimmerman Conservation Award is presented each spring at our Annual Dinner to recognize individuals or organizations who have made outstanding contributions to the conservation of birds and their habitats. Honorees of the award are nominated and selected by the members of the Conservation Committee.

Award Recipients

2024	Melissa Borde: for leadership and resources protection at the Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve and initiation of the collaborative, volunteer Reserve Watch Program
2023	Spence Porter : for his support of the study and protection of raptors and other wildlife through countless contributions of his expertise, personal time and the donations of specialized, custom-built electronic communications and tracking equipment.
2022	Robert (Robb) A. Hamilton for decades of tireless work in southern California in the protection of birds and their habitats and for his generosity in sharing his vast knowledge of birds with others.
2021	Vic Leipzig for his long and wide-ranging role as a leader and influence in the local conservation community

2020	Celia Kutcher for more than three decades of unwavering effort to
	protect and conserve Southern California's native plants and natural
	habitats
2019	Penny Elia, unsung hero and dedicated activist for protection of
	wetlands and coastal natural resources.
2018	The Banning Ranch Conservancy for their work and persistence over
	the last twenty years, and recent milestone successes, toward the
	preservation of the important natural resources of Banning Ranch
2017	The Huntington Beach Wetlands Conservancy in recognition of its
	dedication and success in the acquisition, restoration, and continued
	maintenance of wetlands in Huntington Beach
	Certificate of Appreciation to Sam Berry
	Special Acknowledgement of Dan Silver
2016	Sandy DeSimone for connecting people of all ages to conservation,
	science and nature through research and education at Starr Ranch
2015	Susan Sheakley for her commitment to conserving birds and their
	habitats through many years of service as Chair of the Sea and Sage
	Audubon Society Conservation Committee
2014	Jean Watt for her lifetime commitment to conservation, and including
	founding and leading the Friends of Harbors, Beaches and Parks
2013	Diane Bonanno and Angela Lindstrom for a successful referendum in
	the City of Fullerton and for dedication in the continuing battle to save
	West Coyote Hills
2012	Melanie Schlotterbeck for her success in protecting critically important
2011	open spaces in Orange County through the Measure "M" process
2011	David Pryor for his devotion and dedication to the conservation of
	California Least Terns, Snowy Plovers and other shorebirds, with State
	Parks and volunteer projects such as the Least Tern Colony Natural Preserve
2010	Trish Smith for her commitment and dedication to the protection of
2010	Coastal Cactus Wren populations and development of the statewide
	working group for recovery of the Coastal Cactus Wren
2009	Richard (Dick) Zembal for the study and conservation of the Light-
2003	footed Clapper Rail and the protection of the Santa Ana River
	Watershed
2008	Mark Bixby and Julie Bixby for the conservation and preservation of
	uplands at the Bolsa Chica in Huntington Beach
2007	Peter Knapp for his commitment and dedication to the conservation
	and care of Snowy Plovers, habitats, and shorebirds at Bolsa Chica
2006	Rick Derevan, Legal Counsel pro bono for Sea & Sage Audubon, for his
	many contributions to Audubon and success in defending open-spaces
	in Trabuco Canyon
2005	Tim Miller for his dedication to conservation, as Director and
	Superintendent of Parks with OC Harbors Beaches and Parks
2004	Garry Brown for conservation of the ocean through Orange County
	Coastkeeper
<u> </u>	·

2003	Marilyn Ganahl, Teresa Sears, and Shirley Grindle for preservation of
	Barham Ranch in the City of Orange
2002	Members of the Amigos de Bolsa Chica and Members of the Bolsa
	Chica Land Trust for the protection and restoration of the Bolsa Chica
	Wetlands
2001	Claire Schlotterbeck for the preservation of Coal Canyon
2000	Scott Thomas and Susan Gallaugher for leadership on the
	Conservation Committee and Raptor Research Projects
1999	Paul Carlton for his work creating and manging the Friends of the
	Foothills and Santa Ana Mountains Conservation Campaign
1998	John McCaul, Audubon California Legislative Lobbyist, for his
	commitment to chapters and conservation
1997	Sylvia Gallagherfor conservation of birds through adult education
	Sylvia was the first recipient of the Conservation Award after it
	was renamed Fern Zimmerman Consorvation Award to honor
	Fern Zimmerman, a lifelong advocate of conservation in Orange
	County and beyond.
1996	Elisabeth Brown, PhD for the protection of Laguna Beach open spaces
1995	Peter Bloom for the advancement of our understanding and
	conservation of raptors in Southern California
1994	Kaaren Perry and the Sea and Sage Education Committee for their
	outstanding efforts to educate youth about birds, science and nature
1993	Dr. Jack and Nancy Skinner for the protection of Newport Bay
	Dan Silver for the work completed by the Endangered Habitats League
	on behalf of open spaces and the California Gnatcatcher
1992	Pete DeSimone for leading the effort to protect Las Flores
1991	Ray Chandos for the protection of Trabuco Canyon
1990	Cameron Cosgrove for support of conservation in the City of Irvine
1989	Walton W. Wright for habitat protection and conservation of natural
	open space in Orange County
1988	Loren Hays for his unending work on behalf of Huntington Beach
	Central Park
1987	Gary Gorman for establishing the Huntington Beach Wetlands
1986	Connie Spenger for her efforts to preserve the Tecate Cypress
1985	Amigos de Bolsa Chica for their efforts to preserve Bolsa Chica
1984	Kenneth S. Croker, Orange County Sierra Club, for his 20 years of
	conservation leadership
	Gordon B. Ruser for his contribution to the preservation of Weir
	Canyon and Tecate Cypress in Coal and Gypsum Canyons
	Special awards to Carolyn Honer and Sylvia Ranney for their direction
	and production of the Birds of Southern California films
1983	Ferne Cohen for her efforts and success in the protection of Weir
	Canyon
1982	Dave Bontrager for Irvine Regional Park Oak Tree Preservation
1981	Judy Rosener for outstanding service as Coastal Commissioner
	Dave Myers for efforts to protect Chino Hills
1980	Margaret Carlberg for efforts to protect Bolsa Chica
1979	Hal Thomas for work with the Environmental Coalition

1978	Chuck Greening for protection of environment through Hills for
	Everyone
1977	Shirley Grindle, Orange County Planning Commissioner, for the Tin Cup
	Campaign Reform
1976	Dale Secord for establishing the Environmental Coalition of OC
1975	James Dilley for work to protect Laguna Greenbelt
1974	Rod Sackett, Santa Ana Greenbelt Coordinator, for his able direction of
	the first two years of the Santa Ana Greenbelt Plan
1973	Fern Zimmerman for her lifelong interest and activity in conservation
	in Orange County
1972	Donald Shipley , Mayor of Huntington Beach, for his efforts to secure
	parkland for the City of Huntington Beach
1971	Frank and Frances Robinson, Defenders of the Bay, for their efforts to
	preserve Upper Newport Bay as an ecological preserve
1970	William Fitchen, Orange County Air Pollution Control Officer, for his
	dedicated fight against air pollution in Orange County
1969	Adaline Walker for her work with garden clubs throughout Orange
	County
1968	John W. Johnson, high school biology instructor in Corona del Mar, for
	his work with students and fostering their interest in conservation
1967	C.M Featherly, Orange County Supervisor, for his efforts toward adding
	parkland to Orange County